Table Reading of the Passion

During the Easter Triduum, as is our custom, we put aside the current table reading to read the various Gospel accounts of the Passion of our Lord.  This year we are reading them in the order in which they appear in the Bible:  Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.  We have four meals between the Evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Thursday and the Vigil Mass on Saturday night.  We typically get through the four narratives, and if there is still some meal time left at dinner on Saturday, we begin the cycle again.

At the signal indicating the end of each meal during the Triduum, the table reader reads the third step of humility from the Rule of Saint Benedict:

“The third step of humility is that a man submits to his superior in all obedience for the love of God, imitating the Lord of whom the Apostle says:  He became obedient even to death (Phil 2:8).”  [RB 7:34]


This entry was posted in Current Table Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s